Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 17
Tuesday, May 3, 2022, 3:32 p.m. to 5:38 p.m.
Hon. Marc Garneau, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. James A. Makokis, Plains Cree Family Physician, Kinokamasihk Nehiyawak Nation, Treaty Number Six Territory
Canadian Medical Association
• Dr. Alika Lafontaine, President-Elect
Government of Nunavut
• Hon. John Main, Minister of Health
Government of the Northwest Territories
• Hon. Julie Green, Minister of Health and Social Services
Government of Yukon
• Hon. Tracy-Anne McPhee, Minister of Health and Social Services
Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada
• Dr. Evan Adams, Vice-President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, February 1, 2022, the committee resumed its study of administration and accessibility of Indigenous Peoples to the Non-Insured Health Benefits (NIHB) program.

John Main, Julie Green and Tracy-Anne McPhee made statements and answered questions.

At 4:27 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Alika Lafontaine, James A. Makokis and Evan Adams made statements and answered questions.

At 5:38 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee