Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 95
Thursday, February 1, 2024, 3:32 p.m. to 5:34 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

• Vance Badawey for Ken Hardie (Liberal)
• Larry Brock for Richard Bragdon (Conservative)
• Earl Dreeshen for Clifford Small (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Natacha Kramski, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
As an individual
• Naiomi Metallic, Associate Professor and Chancellor's Chair of Aboriginal Law and Policy
• Andrew Roman, Retired Lawyer
Canadian Coast Guard
• Marc Mes, Director General, Fleet and Maritime Services
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
• Adam Burns, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs Sector
• Brent Napier, Acting Director General, Conservation and Protection
International Monitoring, Control, and Surveillance (IMCS) Network
• Mark Young, Executive Director
• Julian Hawkins, Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, January 18, 2022, the committee resumed its study of illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing.

Mark Young, Naiomi Metallic, Andrew Roman and Julian Hawkins made statements and answered questions.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Marc Mes, Adam Burns and Brent Napier answered questions.

At 5:34 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Miriam Burke
Committee clerk