Skip to main content
Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 70
Thursday, June 8, 2023, 11:08 a.m. to 1:04 p.m.
Ali Ehsassi, Chair (Liberal)

• Kelly Block for Garnett Genuis (Conservative)
• Jean-Denis Garon for Stéphane Bergeron (Bloc Québécois)
• Maninder Sidhu for Hon. Robert Oliphant (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
As an individual
• Hon. Raynell Andreychuk, Former Senator
• Paul James Cardwell, Law Professor
• Benjamin L. Schmitt, Senior Fellow, Department of Physics and Astronomy and Kleinman Center for Energy Policy, University of Pennsylvania
National Resistance Front of Afghanistan
• Ali Maisam Nazary, Head of Foreign Relations
Project Ploughshares
• Kelsey Gallagher, Researcher
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, September 21, 2022, the committee resumed its study of Canada’s sanctions regime.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 12:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $ 30,950.00, for the study of Canada's sanctions regime, be adopted.

At 1:04 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Ariane Gagné-Frégeau
Clerk of the committee