Skip to main content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 31
Tuesday, June 15, 2021, 11:02 a.m. to 1:40 p.m.
Ruby Sahota, Chair (Liberal)

• Marilène Gill for Alain Therrien (Bloc Québécois)
• Wayne Long for Mark Gerretsen (Liberal)
• Sameer Zuberi for Stéphane Lauzon (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Andre Barnes, Analyst
• Laurence Brosseau, Analyst
Elections Canada
• Stéphane Perrault, Chief Electoral Officer
• Michel Roussel, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Electoral Events and Innovation
• Anne Lawson, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Regulatory Affairs
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 11, 2021, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act (COVID-19 response).

Stéphane Perrault made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Karen Vecchio moved, — That, in relation to its consideration of Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act (COVID-19 response), the Committee

(a) invite the following to appear as witnesses at their earliest opportunities and prior to clause-by-clause consideration:

(i) the Chief Electoral Officer,

(ii) a panel consisting of the Chief Electoral Officer of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Chief Medical Officer of Health of Newfoundland and Labrador,

(iii) a panel consisting of representatives of the Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador, the Progressive Conservative Party of Newfoundland and Labrador, and the New Democratic Party of Newfoundland and Labrador,

(iv) a panel consisting of the Chief Electoral Officer of Yukon and the Chief Electoral Officer of New Brunswick,

(v) a panel of four federal returning officers, with one nominated by each recognized party, (vi) representatives of the Canadian Association of Long Term Care, and

(vii) a panel of professors Peter Russell, William Cross, Ken Carty, and Kelly Bildook; and

(b) invite appropriate technical officials from the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, in addition to the usual officials from the Privy Council Office, to appear during clause-by-clause consideration.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Marilène Gill, Peter Kent, Tom Lukiwski, John Nater, Karen Vecchio — 5;

NAYS: Daniel Blaikie, Kirsty Duncan, Stéphane Lauzon, Wayne Long, Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Ryan Turnbull — 6.

At 12:21 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:32 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

Pursuant to Standing Order 32(7) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, November 5, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the government’s reasons for proroguing Parliament in August 2020.

The committee resumed consideration of a draft report.

It was agreed, — That the draft report, as amended, be adopted.

It was agreed, — That the report be entitled: "Report on the government’s Report to Parliament: August 2020 Prorogation – COVID-19 pandemic".

It was agreed, — That the Chair, clerk and analysts be authorized to make such grammatical and editorial changes as may be necessary without changing the substance of the report.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 109, the committee request that the government table a comprehensive response to the report.

It was agreed, — That dissenting or supplementary opinions, of no more than ten pages in length, be submitted electronically, in both official languages, to the clerk of the committee, not later than 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 17, 2021.

Pursuant to motion adopted on Thursday, June 3, 2021, the Committee ORDERED the Chair to present the report to the House by June 18, 2021.

At 1:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Justin Vaive
Clerk of the Committee