Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 11
Monday, February 1, 2021, 4:02 p.m. to 5:41 p.m.

House of Commons
• Jean-François Pagé, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Alison Clegg, Analyst
• Natacha Kramski, Analyst
As an individual
• Ms. Ariane Gagnon-Rocque, Lawyer
• Dr. Mark Winfield, Professor, Faculty of Environmental and Urban Change, York University
• Ken Bondy, National Representative, Health, Safety and Environment
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, November 2, 2020, the committee resumed its study of enforcement of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.


Laurel Collins moved, — That the committee, in light of the fact that the second committee meeting of the CEPA study was cancelled and one of the key witnesses is unavailable for any alternative dates in January and February, reduce the number of meetings for the CEPA study from four to three, and that in place of a fourth meeting, the committee hold a one-meeting hearing to hear from witnesses on the possibility of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development becoming an independent officer of parliament.

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Dan Albas, Laurel Collins, Joël Godin, Matt Jeneroux, Monique Pauzé, Brad Redekopp — 6;

NAYS: Yvan Baker, Lloyd Longfield, Raj Saini, Ya’ara Saks, Peter Schiefke — 5.

At 5:41 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Isabelle Duford
Clerk of the Committee