Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 5
Wednesday, February 5, 2020, 3:39 p.m. to 9:08 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
• Hon. Mona Fortier, P.C., M.P., Minister of Middle Class Prosperity
As an individual
• Peter Weissman, Chartered Accountant, Trust and Estate Practitioner
Assembly of First Nations
• Daniel Wilson, Special Advisor, Research and Policy Coordination
Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada
• Timothy Ross, Executive Director
• Courtney Lockhart, Program Manager, Policy and Government Relations
Moodys Gartner Tax Law LLP
• Kim G.C. Moody, Chief Executive Officer and Director, Canadian Tax Advisory
Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada
• Benjamin Davis, Senior Vice-President, Mission
National Police Federation
• Brian Sauvé, President
• Peter Merrifield, Vice-President
Business Council of Canada
• Brian Kingston, Vice-President, Policy, International and Fiscal
Canadian Electricity Association
• Francis Bradley, President and Chief Executive Officer
Conseil national des chômeurs et chômeuses
• Pierre Céré, Spokesperson
• Bilal Khan, Managing Partner and Head of Deloitte Data
Mortgage Professionals Canada
• Elaine Taylor, Chair of the Board of Directors, Head Office
• Paul Taylor, President and Chief Executive Officer, Head Office
Vanier Institute of the Family
• Nora Spinks, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Home Builders' Association
• Kevin Lee, Chief Executive Officer
Climate Action Network Canada
• Catherine Abreu, Executive Director
Confédération des syndicats nationaux
• François Bélanger, Union Advisor, Labour Relations Services
• Pierre Patry, Treasurer
Northwest Territories Association of Communities
• Rebecca Alty, Vice-President
• Sara Brown, Chief Executive Officer
Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada
• Jeff Killeen, Director, Policy and Programs
• Lisa McDonald, Executive Director
Tourism Industry Association of Canada
• Charlotte Bell, President and Chief Executive Officer
Department of Finance
• Paul Rochon, Deputy Minister
• Ava Yaskiel, Associate Deputy Minister
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, January 29, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the pre-budget consultations 2020.

Peter Weissman, by videoconference fron Toronto, Ontario, Daniel Wilson, Timothy Ross, Kim G.C. Moody, Benjamin Davis and Brian Sauvé made statements and, with Peter Merrifield, answered questions.

Courtney Lockhart made a statement.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Brian Kingston, Francis Bradley, Pierre Céré, Bilal Khan, Paul Taylor and Nora Spinks made statements and answered questions.

Elaine Taylor made a statement.

At 6:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kevin Lee, Catherine Abreu, Pierre Patry, Sara Brown and Charlotte Bell made statements and, with François Bélanger, answered questions.

Rebecca Alty and Lisa McDonald made statements.

At 7:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:04 p.m., the sitting resumed in a televised session.

The Minister made a statement and, with Paul Rochon, answered questions.

At 9:08 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.

Caroline Bosc
Committee Clerk