Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 83
Thursday, November 23, 2017, 3:33 p.m. to 5:20 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

• Neil R. Ellis for Vance Badawey (Liberal)
• David Sweet for Hon. Michael D. Chong (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Zackery Shaver, Analyst
• Nicole Sweeney, Analyst
Halifax Water
• Carl Yates, General Manager
• Reid Campbell, Director, Water Services
Canadian Water Network
• Bernadette Conant, Chief Executive Officer
Ontario Water Works Association
• Michèle Grenier, Executive Director
As an individual
• Marc Edwards, Professor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
• Bruce Lanphear, Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University
• Graham Gagnon, Professor, Centre for Water Resources Studies, Faculty of Engineering, Dalhousie University
• Benjamin Trueman, Ph.D. Student, Centre for Water Resources Studies, Faculty of Engineering, Dalhousie University
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, February 7, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of water quality.

Bernadette Conant, Michele Grenier and Graham Gagnon made statements and answered questions.

At 4:26 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Marc Edwards, by videoconference from Blacksburg, Virginia, Bruce Lanphear, by videoconference from Burnaby, British Columbia, and Carl Yates made statements and, with Reid Campbell, answered questions.

At 5:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee