Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 66
Wednesday, September 13, 2017, 8:33 a.m. to 5:58 p.m.
Bill Casey, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Hugues La Rue, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
• Robin MacKay, Analyst
Anandia Labs
• Jonathan Page, Chief Executive Officer
As individuals
• John Conroy, Barrister
• Gabor Maté, Retired Physician
• Sharon Levy, Director, Adolescent Substance Abuse Program, Boston Children's Hospital
Canadian Federation of Apartment Associations
• John Dickie, President
Canadian Drug Policy Coalition
• Scott Bernstein, Senior Policy Analyst
Canadian Public Health Association
• Ian Culbert, Executive Director
Canadian Paediatric Society
• Christina Grant, Member of the Adolescent Health Committee
Educators for Sensible Drug Policy
• Judith Renaud, Executive Director
• Paul Renaud, Communications Director
• Peter A. Howlett, President
• Peter Vamos, Executive Director
Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction
• Amy Porath, Director, Research and Policy
Drug Free Kids Canada
• Marc Paris, Executive Director
• William J. Barakett, Member, DFK Canada Advisory Council
Institut national de santé publique du Québec
• Maude Chapados, Scientific Advisor
• François Gagnon, Scientific Advisor
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
• Benedikt Fischer, Senior Scientist, Institute for Mental Health Policy Research
• Bernard Le Foll, Medical Head, Addiction Medicine Service, Acute Care Program
City of Toronto
• Eileen de Villa, Medical Officer of Health, Toronto Public Health
Ontario Public Health Association
• Michelle Suarly, Chair, Cannabis Task Group
• Elena Hasheminejad, Member, Cannabis Task Group
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, June 8, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts.

Jonathan Page, John Conroy and John Dickie made statements and answered questions.

At 10:24 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:47 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Scott Bernstein, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Ian Culbert, Christina Grant, Judith Renaud, Paul Renaud and Peter A. Howlett made statements and, with Peter Vamos, answered questions.

At 12:39 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:45 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Amy Porath, Marc Paris, William J. Barakett, Maude Chapados and François Gagnon made statements and answered questions.

At 3:40 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Gabor Maté, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Bernard Le Foll, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Sharon Levy, by videoconference from New York, New York, Benedikt Fischer, Eileen de Villa, Michelle Suarly and Elena Hasheminejad made statements.

Benedikt Fischer, Eileen de Villa, Sharon Levy, Elena Hasheminejad and Gabor Maté answered questions.

At 5:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee