Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 61
Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 11:02 a.m. to 1:03 p.m.
Bill Casey, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Karin Phillips, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
• Aline Dimitri, Executive Director, Food Safety Science and Deputy Chief Food Safety Officer
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
• Marc Ouellette, Scientific Director, Infection and Immunity, Institute of Infection and Immunity
Department of Health
• Mary-Jane Ireland, Director General, Veterinary Drugs Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch
Public Health Agency of Canada
• Howard Njoo, Deputy Chief Public Health Officer, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Infectious Disease Prevention and Control Branch
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the Committee on Monday, March 7, 2016, and on Thursday, May 4, 2017, the Committee commenced its study of antimicrobial resistance.

Marc Ouellette, by videoconference from Québec, Quebec, Aline Dimitri, Mary-Jane Ireland and Howard Njoo made statements and answered questions.

At 12:39 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:42 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the Committee routine motion on staff and members attending in camera proceedings, adopted on February 3, 2016, Joël Lightbound, M.P., be permitted to attend the in camera portion of the meeting.

At 1:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee