Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 147
Monday, April 30, 2018, 3:31 p.m. to 6:32 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
• Bruce Ball, Vice-President, Taxation
Canada's Building Trades Unions
• Robert Blakely, Canadian Operating Officer
Business Development Bank of Canada
• Pierre Cléroux, Vice-President and Chief Economist, Research
• Karen Kastner, Vice-President, Partnerships and Government Relations
Paws Fur Thought
• Medric Cousineau, Co-Founder
Canadians for Tax Fairness
• Diana Gibson, Director, Communications and Research
Canadian Union of Public Employees
• Mark Janson, Research
Canadian Labour Congress
• Hassan Yussuff, President
• Emily Norgang, Senior Researcher
As an individual
• Kevin Milligan, Professor, Vancouver School of Economics, University of British Columbia
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 23, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-74, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018, and other measures.

Hassan Yussuff, Robert Blakely, Diana Gibson, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Bruce Ball, made statements and, with Emily Norgang, answered questions.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Medric Cousineau, Pierre Cléroux, Mark Janson and Kevin Milligan, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and, with Karen Kastner, answered questions.

At 6:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee