Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 127
Thursday, November 23, 2017, 3:32 p.m. to 5:36 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Pat Kelly (Conservative)
• Hon. Lisa Raitt (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Suzie Cadieux, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a proposed supplementary budget in the amount of $29,900.00, for the study of Pre-Budget Consultations in Advance of the 2018 Budget, be adopted.

• Hon. Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue
Canada Revenue Agency
• Bob Hamilton, Commissioner of Revenue and Chief Executive Officer
• Ted Gallivan, Assistant Commissioner, International, Large Business and Investigations Branch
• Frank Vermaeten, Assistant Commissioner, Assessments, Benefits, and Services Branch
• Janique Caron, Acting Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch, and Agency Conptroller
Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee resumed consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B) 2017-18: Vote 1b under Canada Revenue Agency, Vote 1b under Department of Finance and Vote 1b under Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada, referred to the Committee on Thursday, October 26, 2017.

The Chair called Vote 1b under Canada Revenue Agency.

The Hon. Diane Lebouthillier and Bob Hamilton made statements and, with Frank Vermaeten and Ted Gallivan, answered questions.


Pierre-Luc Dusseault moved, — That, following the tabling of the report of the Auditor General of Canada of November 21, 2017, the Committee invite the Minister of National Revenue to appear before the Committee regarding the Auditor General’s Report 2—Call Centres—Canada Revenue Agency.

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Dan Albas, Pierre-Luc Dusseault, Tom Kmiec, Pierre Poilievre — 4;

NAYS: Greg Fergus, Raj Grewal, Stéphane Lauzon, Jennifer O'Connell, Francesco Sorbara — 5.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

Vote 1b under Canada Revenue Agency carried on division.

ORDERED, — That the Chair report Vote 1b, under Canada Revenue Agency to the House.

At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Committee Clerk