Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 81
Tuesday, October 31, 2017, 8:48 a.m. to 10:47 a.m.
Deborah Schulte, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
• Sarah Yakobowski, Analyst
Department of the Environment
• Laniel Bateman, Acting Executive Director, Policy Development
• Matt Jones, Assistant Deputy Minister, Pan-Canadian Framework Implementation Office
Department of Transport
• Ellen Burack, Director General, Environmental Policy
Office of the Auditor General
• Sharon Clark, Principal
• Julie Gelfand, Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development
• Andrew Hayes, Principal
• Kimberley Leach, Principal, Sustainable Development Strategies, Audits and Studies
Department of Industry
• Colette Downie, Assistant Deputy Minister/Chief Financial Officer
• Christopher Johnstone, Director General, Science and Research Sector
Department of Public Works and Government Services
• Simon Dubé, Director General, Strategic Policy and Planning
• Veronica Silva, Director General, Technical Services, Real Property Services
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
• Keith Lennon, Director, Oceans Science Branch
Department of Natural Resources
• Marc Wickham, Director, Energy Science & Technology Programs, Office of Energy Research and Development, Innovation and Energy Technology Sector
• Amanda Wilson, Director General, Office of Energy Research and Development, Innovation and Energy Technology Sector
Pursuant to Standing Order 32(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Reports of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development - Fall 2017, referred to the Committee on Tuesday, October 3, 2017.

Julie Gelfand made a statement and, with Sharon Clark, Andrew Hayes and Kimberley Leach, answered questions.

At 9:44 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Matt Jones, Laniel Bateman, Keith Lennon, Colette Downie, Simon Dubé, Ellen Burack and Amanda Wilson made statements and, with Christopher Johnstone, Veronica Silva and Marc Wickham, answered questions.

At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee