Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 27
Thursday, May 29, 2014

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 7-52, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, Mike Wallace, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Patrick Brown, Sean Casey, Bob Dechert, Robert Goguen, Pierre Jacob, Ève Péclet, Kyle Seeback, Mike Wallace and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Charmaine Borg for Pierre Jacob.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sandra Gruescu, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Centre for Child Protection: Signy Arnason, Associate Executive Director; Lianna McDonald, Executive Director; Monique St Germain, General Counsel. As an individual: Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair, Internet and E-commerce Law, University of Ottawa. Office of the Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime: Sue O'Sullivan, Federal Ombudsman for Victims of Crime. Canadian Association of University Teachers: James L. Turk, Executive Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, April 28, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-13, An Act to amend the Criminal Code, the Canada Evidence Act, the Competition Act and the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Act.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2014/05/29 2:45 p.m.