Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 39
Monday, November 24, 2014

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Chair, Harold Albrecht, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Stella Ambler, Dennis Bevington, Colin Carrie, François Choquette, Mylène Freeman, Hon. John McKay, Robert Sopuck, Lawrence Toet and Stephen Woodworth.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Orgaworld Canada: Dale Harley, General Manager, Ottawa. Region of Peel: Larry Conrad, Manager, Waste Operations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 8, 2014, the Committee resumed its study of the management of municipal solid waste and industrial materials.

Dale Harley and Larry Conrad made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

François Choquette gave notice of the following motions:

1- That the Committee conduct a study on the implementation and funding of the Species at Risk Act.

2- That the Committee Standing of Environment and Sustainable Development, ends the examination of witnesses for the study on Management of Municipal Solid Waste and Industrial Materials and proceed to the stage of consideration of a report


Stephen Woodworth moved, — That the Committee proceed to sit in camera.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Stella Ambler, Colin Carrie, Robert Sopuck, Lawrence Toet, Stephen Woodworth — 5; NAYS: Dennis Bevington, François Choquette, Mylène Freeman, John McKay — 4.


At 4:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:58 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2014/11/25 2:04 p.m.