Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Wednesday, October 29, 2014

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 3:27 p.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Chair, Harold Albrecht, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Colin Carrie, Hon. John McKay and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Paul Calandra for Robert Sopuck, Corneliu Chisu for Lawrence Toet, Dan Harris for Dennis Bevington, Megan Anissa Leslie for François Choquette, Kyle Seeback for Brian Storseth and Rathika Sitsabaiesan for Mylène Freeman.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society: Éric Hébert-Daly, National Executive Director, National Office; Alison Woodley, National Director, Parks Program, National Office. Waterfront Regeneration Trust Corporation: Pauline Browes, Director. York Region Federation of Agriculture: Kim Empringham. Ontario Nature: Caroline Schultz, Executive Director. Whittamore's Farm: Mike Whittamore.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, October 8, 2014 and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, October 20, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-40, An Act respecting the Rouge National Urban Park.

Éric Hébert-Daly, Pauline Browes and Kim Empringham made statements and answered questions.


At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Caroline Shultz and Mike Whittamore made statements and answered questions.


At 5:27 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2015/10/02 1:52 p.m.