Skip to main content
Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 10
Monday, January 27, 2014

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 8:35 a.m. this day, in the Katimavik room, Explorer Hotel, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, the Chair, Chris Warkentin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dennis Bevington, Kyle Seeback, Mark Strahl and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Yvonne Jones for Hon. Carolyn Bennett.


Associate Members present: Ryan Leef.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Norah Kielland, Analyst; Tonina Simeone, Analyst.


Witnesses: Government of the Northwest Territories: Hon. Bob McLeod, Premier of the Northwest Territories; James Fulford, Legal Counsel; Shaleen Woodward, Assistant Deputy Minister. Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated: Hon. Ethel Blondin-Andrew, Chairperson; Frank Andrew, Grand Chief; Daryn Leas, Legal Counsel. Tlicho Government: Edward Erasmus, Grand Chief; Bertha Rabesca Zoe, Legal Counsel. Gwich'in Tribal Council: Robert Alexie, President. As an individual: Neil McCrank. As an Individual: John Pollard. Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board: Willard Hagen, Chair; John Donihee, Legal Counsel. NWT Treaty 8 Tribal Corporation: Edward Sangris, Chief; Don Balsillie, Chief Negotiator, Akaitcho First Nations. Dehcho First Nations: Herb Norwegian, Grand Chief; Larry Innes, Legal Counsel. Dene Nation: Bill Erasmus, National Chief; Francois Paulette. Katlodeeche First Nation: Roy Fabian, Chief; Peter Redvers, Consultation Facilitator. North Slave Métis Alliance: Bill Enge, President; Christopher Devlin, Legal Counsel. Acho Dene Koe First Nation: Harry Deneron, Chief. Fort Liard Metis Local #67: Ernest McLeod, President. Northwest Territories and Nunavut Chamber of Mines: Tom Hoefer, Executive Director; Michael Hardin, Legal Counsel. Northwest Territories Chamber of Commerce: Michael Bradshaw, Executive Director; Allen Stanzell, First Vice-President. Northern Territories Federation of Labour: Sandra Lockhart, Regional Vice-President, Somba K'e; David Bob, Vice-President. Northwest Territories Association of Communities: Tina Gargan, President; Sara Brown, Chief Executive Officer. Town of Inuvik: Floyd Roland, Mayor. Alternatives North: Karen Hamre, Representative; Christine Wenman, Representative.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, December 5, 2013, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-15, An Act to replace the Northwest Territories Act to implement certain provisions of the Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement and to repeal or make amendments to the Territorial Lands Act, the Northwest Territories Waters Act, the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act, other Acts and certain orders and regulations.

Premier Bob McLeod made a statement and, with Shaleen Woodward and James Fulford, answered questions.


At 9:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:35 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Ethel Blondin-Andrew, Grand Chief Edward Erasmus and Robert Alexie made statements and, with Bertha Rabesca Zoe, Grand Chief Frank Andrew and Daryn Leas, answered questions.


At 10:12 a.m., Kyle Seeback took the Chair.


At 10:15 a.m., Chris Warkentin took the Chair.


At 10:44 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:55 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Neil McCrank, John Pollard and Willard Hagen made statements and, with John Donihee, answered questions.


At 11:56 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Chief Edward Sangris, Don Balsillie, Grand Chief Herb Norwegian, National Chief Bill Erasmus and François Paulette made statements and, with Larry Innes, answered questions.


At 2:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Chief Roy Fabian, Peter Redvers, Chief Harry Deneron and Bill Enge made statements and, with Christopher Devlin and Ernest McLeod, answered questions.


At 3:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Tom Hoefer, Allen Stanzell, David Bob and Sandra Lockhart made statements and, with Michael Hardin and Michael Bradshaw, answered questions.


At 5:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:15 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Tina Gargan, Christine Wenman and Karen Hamre made statements and, with Sarah Brown, answered questions.


Floyd Roland made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 6:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee

2015/09/17 10:06 a.m.