Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 83
Tuesday, April 30, 2013

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 8:45 a.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Candice Bergen, Randall Garrison, Parm Gill, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Ryan Leef, Rick Norlock, LaVar Payne, John Rafferty, Jean Rousseau, Francis Scarpaleggia and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Élaine Michaud for Rosane Doré Lefebvre.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Christine Morris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Royal Canadian Mounted Police: D/Commr Doug Lang, Deputy Commissioner, Contract and Aboriginal Policing; Insp Tyler Bates, Director, National Aboriginal Policing and Crime Prevention Services. Nishnawbe-Aski Police Service: Chief Robert Herman, Chief of Police. Government of Yukon: Ronald H. MacMillan, Deputy Minister, Department of Justice; Robert Riches, Assistant Deputy Minister, Community Justice and Public Safety, Department of Justice.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, May 29, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of the economics of policing.

Ronald MacMillan and Robert Riches, by videoconference from Whitehorse, Yukon, and Chief Herman, made statements and answered questions.


At 9:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Deputy Commissioner Lang made a statement and, with Inspector Bates, answered questions.


At 10:27 a.m., Randall Garrison took the Chair.


At 10:32 a.m., Kevin Sorenson took the Chair.


At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2013/05/01 11:21 a.m.