Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 77
Thursday, March 21, 2013

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met in a televised session at 8:44 a.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Candice Bergen, Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Randall Garrison, Parm Gill, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Ryan Leef, Rick Norlock, LaVar Payne, John Rafferty, Jean Rousseau, Francis Scarpaleggia and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Jay Aspin for Hon. Laurie Hawn.


Appearing: Hon. Vic Toews, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety.


Witnesses: Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness: François Guimont, Deputy Minister. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Bob Paulson, Commissioner. Correctional Service of Canada: Don Head, Commissioner. Canada Border Services Agency: Malcolm Brown, Executive Vice-President. Canadian Security Intelligence Service: Michel Coulombe, Deputy Director of Operations. National Parole Board: Harvey Cenaiko, Chairperson.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 7, 2013, the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2013-14: Vote 25 under PRIVY COUNCIL and Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60 and 65 under PUBLIC SAFETY AND EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS, referred to the Committee on Monday, February 25, 2013.



The Minister made a statement and, with the witnesses, answered questions.


At 9:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses answered questions.


At 10:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2013/03/22 12:38 p.m.