Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Monday, September 24, 2012

The Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Candice Bergen, Rosane Doré Lefebvre, Randall Garrison, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Russ Hiebert, Ryan Leef, LaVar Payne, Francis Scarpaleggia and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Scott Armstrong for Rick Norlock, Jean-François Larose for Jean Rousseau and Brian Masse for John Rafferty.


In attendance: House of Commons: Marlene Sandoval, Committee Clerk. Library of Parliament: Tanya Dupuis, Analyst; Christine Morris, Analyst.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Chair.


On motion of Candice Bergen, it was agreed, — That Kevin Sorenson be elected Chair of the Committee.


By unanimous consent, the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Vice-Chairs


On motion of Rosane Doré Lefebvre, it was agreed, — That Randall Garrison be elected first Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Laurie Hawn, it was agreed, — That Francis Scarpaleggia be elected second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


At 3:35 p.m., Kevin Sorenson took the Chair.


At 3:40 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2012/09/25 1:52 p.m.