Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 53
Monday, October 15, 2012

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Mylène Freeman, Sadia Groguhé, Roxanne James, Chungsen Leung, Costas Menegakis, Ted Opitz, David Tilson and John Weston.


Acting Members present: Scott Andrews for Kevin Lamoureux, Tyrone Benskin for Rathika Sitsabaiesan and Robert Chisholm for Jinny Jogindera Sims.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Julie Béchard, Analyst; Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.


Witnesses: Action Réfugiés Montréal: Jenny Jeanes, Program Coordinator. REDRESS: Lutz Oette, Counsel. Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants (OCASI): Debbie Douglas, Executive Director; Amy Casipullai, Senior Policy and Communications Coordinator. As an individual: Angus Grant.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, December 8, 2011, the Committee resumed its study "Standing on Guard for Thee: Ensuring that Canada's Immigration System is Secure".

Lutz Oette, by videoconference from London, United Kingdom, and Jenny Jeanes made statements and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Angus Grant, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Debbie Douglas made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julie Lalande Prud'homme
Clerk of the Committee

2012-10-16 2:17 p.m.