Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Monday, November 29, 2010

The Standing Committee on International Trade met by videoconference at 3:41 p.m. this day, in Room C-180, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Lee Richardson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Ron Cannan, John Cannis, Claude Guimond, Martha Hall Findlay, Ed Holder, Peter Julian, Gerald Keddy, Jean-Yves Laforest, Lee Richardson and Brad Trost.


Acting Members present: Siobhan Coady for Mario Silva.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst; Simon Lapointe, Analyst.


Witnesses: MiningWatch Canada: Jamie Kneen, Communications Coordinator. Clarke Educational Services: Donald-Fraser Clarke, General Manager. Canadian Association of Importers and Exporters: Joy Nott, President; Carol Osmond, Vice-President, Policy. Canadian Foundation for the Americas (FOCAL): Carlo Dade, Executive Director; Marina Connors, Researcher; Mark Richards, Researcher.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 26, 2010, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-46, An Act to implement the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Panama, the Agreement on the Environment between Canada and the Republic of Panama and the Agreement on Labour Cooperation between Canada and the Republic of Panama.

Jamie Kneen and Donald-Fraser Clarke, by videoconference from Panama City, Republic of Panama, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Joy Nott and Carlo Dade made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 5:38 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Paul Cardegna
Clerk of the Committee

2011/01/21 11:09 a.m.