Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 4
Thursday, November 29, 2007

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met at 9:08 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Mervin Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Robert Carrier, Ed Fast, Brian Jean, Mario Laframboise, John Maloney, Brian Masse, Bev Shipley, Mervin Tweed, Hon. Joseph Volpe, Jeff Watson and Paul Zed.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst; Allison Padova, Analyst.


Witnesses: Coalition of Rail Shippers: Robert H. Ballantyne, Chairman, Canadian Industrial Transportation Association; Marta Morgan, Vice-President, Trade and Competitiveness, Forest Products Association of Canada; Wade Sobkowich, Executive Director, Western Grain Elevator Association.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, October 29, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-8, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act (railway transportation).

Robert H. Ballantyne made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


On motion of Brian Masse, it was agreed, — That, the Coalition of Rail Shippers provide to the Committee, information on the amount of money the railroads derive from ancillary charges; what percentage this makes up versus the revenue they derive from freight rates; and, the railways’ top 20 ancillary charges.


At 10:50 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bibiane Ouellette
Clerk of the Committee

2007/11/29 2:57 p.m.