Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 39
Tuesday, November 21, 2006

The Standing Committee on Human Resources, Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities met by videoconference at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, France Bonsant, Bonnie Brown, Patrick Brown, Jean-Claude D'Amours, Yves Lessard, Tony Martin, Hon. Geoff Regan and Lynne Yelich.


Acting Members present: Hon. Joe McGuire for Hon. Denis Coderre and Jeff Watson for Russ Hiebert.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Chantal Collin, Analyst; Kevin Kerr, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Human Resources and Social Development: Johanne Mennie, Deputy Director, Community Development and Partnerships Directorate. Social Economy Working Group: Nancy Neamtan, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Co-operative Association: Carol Hunter, Executive Director. Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec: Sylvain Savage, Director , Improvement, Service Delivery and Management Practices. Enterprising Non-Profits Program: David LePage, Program Manager.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, June 1st, 2006, the Committee commenced its study of the Social Economy Initiative (SEI).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2006/11/21 3:17 p.m.