Skip to main content
Start of content

HERI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 13

Thursday, May 31, 2001

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 9:09 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Clifford Lincoln, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sarmite Bulte, Rodger Cuzner, Cheryl Gallant, André Harvey, Loyola Hearn, Clifford Lincoln, Dennis Mills, Shawn Murphy, Bryon Wilfert.

Acting Members present: Joe Jordan for Paul Bonwick; Stéphan Tremblay for Christiane Gagnon.

Associate Members present: David Chatters, Joe Comartin, Larry Spencer.

Other Member present: Raymond Bonin.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Joe Jackson and Mollie Dunsmuir, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the World Wildlife Fund: Josh Laughren, Senior Manager. From the Fisheries Council of Canada: Patrick McGuinness, Vice-President. From the Canadian Nature Federation: Christie Spence, Co-manager, Wildlands Campaign. From the Memorial University of Newfoundland: Dr. John Lien, Whale Research Group. From the University of Victoria: Philip Dearden, Professor, Department of Geography. From the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board: Michael d'Eça, Legal Counsel. From the Assembly of First Nations: Ovide Mercredi, Political Advisor to the National Chief.

The Order of Reference dated Thursday, May 10, 2001, being read as follows:

ORDERED, -- That Bill C-10, An Act respecting the national marine conservation areas of Canada be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of the Preamble and Clause 1 is postponed.

The Chair read into the record a letter from Andy Burton, M.P..

The Chair called Clause 2.

Josh Laughren, Patrick McGuinness, Christie Spence and Dr. Jon Lien made opening statements and answered questions.

At 11:08 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:10 p.m., the setting resumed.

Philip Dearden, Ovide Mercredi and Michael d'Eça made opening statements and answered questions.

At 2:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Fisher

Clerk of the Committee