Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

(Meeting No. 7)


The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:00 o’clock a.m., this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Joe McGuire, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Hélène Alarie, Leon E. Benoit, Paul Bonwick, Rick Borotsik, Gerry Byrne, Murray Calder, Jean-Guy Chrétien, Denis Coderre, John Harvard, Jake E. Hoeppner, Larry McCormick, Joe McGuire, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Member present: Garry Breitkreuz for Jay Hill.

Associate Member present: John Solomon.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Sonya Dakers, Research Coordinator and Jean-Denis Fréchette, Economist.

Witnesses: From The Canadian Wheat Board: Lorne Hehn, Chief Commissioner; Gordon Machej, Commissioner. From the Canadian Grain Commission: Barry Senft, Chief Commissioner; Len Seguin, Chief Grain Inspector for Canada. From National Farmers Union: Fred Tait, NFU Region 5 (Manitoba) Coordinator; Darrin Qualman, Executive Secretary. From the Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Sally Rutherford, Executive Director; Bob Friesen, 2nd Vice-President.

The Committee resume consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Canadian Wheat Board Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. (See Minutes of Proceeding and Evidence of Meeting No. 2, dated Tuesday, October 21, 1997)

Lorne Hehn from The Canadian Wheat Board made a statement and, with the other witness, answered questions.

Barry Senft from the Canadian Grain Commission made a statement and, with the other witness, answered questions.

At 10:15 o'clock a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:22 o'clock a.m., the sitting resumed.

Darrin Qualman from the National Farmers Union made a statement and, with the other witness, answered questions.

Bob Friesen from the Canadian Federation of Agriculture made a statement and, with the other witness, answered questions.

At 12:10 o'clock p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:15 o'clock p.m., the sitting resumed.

On motion of John Harvard, seconded by Gerry Byrne, it was agreed, - That the Committee approve a budget of the Committee for the period of October 23, 1997 to March 31, 1998 in the amount of $52,350.00

Rick Borotsik moved, - That the Honourable Ralph Goodale, Minister of Natural Resources and Minister responsible for the Canadian Wheat Board appear before the Committee prior to clause by clause consideration of Bill C-4.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was negatived on the following recorded division:

Rick Borotsik Jake E. Hoeppner Larry McCormick
- (3);


Paul Bonwick John Harvard Gerry Byrne Rose-Marie Ur Murray Calder
- (5).

At 12:48 o’clock p.m., the Committee adjourned until 3:30 o'clock p.m. Wesdnesday, November 5, 1997.


Clerk of the Committee