Skip to main content
Start of content

Membership of the Board

Board Composition

The Board consists of:

  • The Speaker, who acts as Chair,
  • two members of the Privy Council
    (appointed to the board by the Government)
  • The Leader of the Opposition or his or her representative, and
  • additional Members appointed in numbers so that there are an equal number of Government and opposition representatives (apart from the Speaker).

The Clerk of the House of Commons, who reports to the Speaker, serves as Secretary to the Board.

Changes to Membership

For changes to BOIE membership, including previous parliaments, please consult the Roles and Membership page where information can be found for a given date.