Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 93
Monday, December 4, 2023, 4:22 p.m. to 6:02 p.m.
Peter Schiefke, Chair (Liberal)

• Dan Mazier for Leslyn Lewis (Conservative)
• Eric Melillo for Chris Lewis (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Geneviève Gosselin, Analyst
• Alexandre Lafrenière, Analyst
Department of Transport
• Sonya Read, Director General, Marine Policy
• Heather Moriarty, Director, Ports Policy
• Rachel Heft, Manager and Senior Counsel, Transport and Infrastructure Legal Services
• Amy Kaufman, Counsel
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, September 26, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-33, An Act to amend the Customs Act, the Railway Safety Act, the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act, 1992, the Marine Transportation Security Act, the Canada Transportation Act and the Canada Marine Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act.

The witnesses answered questions.

The committee resumed its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.

The committee resumed clause-by-clause consideration on Clause 120 of the Bill.

Xavier Barsalou-Duval moved, — That Bill C-33, in Clause 120, be amended by adding after line 30 on page 77 the following:

“(3) Section 62 of the Act is amended by adding the following after subsection (1):

(1.1) Regulations made under paragraph (1)(a) must prohibit the loading and unloading of thermal coal to and from ships in a port.”

Debate arose thereon.

At 4:26 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

Debate arose thereon.

At 4:46 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Debate arose thereon.


Taylor Bachrach moved, — That the committee do now adjourn.

The question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Taylor Bachrach, Chris Lewis, Dan Mazier, Dan Muys, Mark Strahl — 5;

NAYS: Vance Badawey, Xavier Barsalou-Duval, Angelo Iacono, Annie Koutrakis, Joyce Murray, Churence Rogers — 6.

At 6:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Carine Grand-Jean
Clerk of the committee