Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 85
Monday, October 30, 2023, 3:30 p.m. to 5:39 p.m.
Peter Schiefke, Chair (Liberal)

• Blaine Calkins for Leslyn Lewis (Conservative)
• Sean Casey for Joyce Murray (Liberal)
• Eric Melillo for Chris Lewis (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Geneviève Gosselin, Analyst
• Alexandre Lafrenière, Analyst
As an individual
• Bruce Campbell, Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Environmental and Urban Change, York University
Canadian National Railway Company
• Eric Harvey, Senior Counsel, Regulatory
Canadian Pacific Kansas City
• Nathan Cato, Assistant Vice-President, Government Affairs, Canada
Genesee & Wyoming Canada Inc.
• Rick McLellan, President
• Ursule Boyer-Villemaire, Head, Climate Risks and Adaptation Team
Railway Association of Canada
• Marc Brazeau, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, September 26, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-33, An Act to amend the Customs Act, the Railway Safety Act, the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act, 1992, the Marine Transportation Security Act, the Canada Transportation Act and the Canada Marine Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act.

Eric Harvey, Nathan Cato and Marc Brazeau made statements and answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Bruce Campbell, Rick McLellan and Ursule Boyer-Villemaire made statements and answered questions.

At 5:39 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Carine Grand-Jean
Clerk of the committee