Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 60
Friday, March 10, 2023, 8:44 a.m. to 10:49 a.m.
Ron McKinnon, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Pascale Robillard, Analyst
Alberta Chief Firearms Office
• Dr. Teri Bryant, Chief Firearms Officer
Danforth Families for Safe Communities
• Ken Price, Member
• Noor Samiei, Member
National Association of Women and the Law
• Suzanne Zaccour, Head of Feminist Law Reform
• Dr. Erin Whitmore, Executive Director, Ending Violence Association of Canada
As an individual
• Dr. John B. Kortbeek, Professor Emeritus, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary
Canadian Doctors for Protection from Guns
• Dr. Najma Ahmed, Doctor
• Dr. Anna Dare, General Surgeon
Nunavut Association of Municipalities
• Joe Savikataaq, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, December 13, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the effects of the withdrawn amendments (G-4 and G-46) to Bill C-21, An Act to amend certain Acts and to make certain consequential amendments (firearms).

Teri Bryant, Erin Whitmore, Ken Price and Noor Samiei made statements and, with Suzanne Zaccour, answered questions.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:57 a.m., the sitting resumed.

John B. Kortbeek, Anna Dare and Joe Savikataaq made statements and, with Najma Ahmed, answered questions.

At 10:49 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Simon Larouche
Clerk of the committee