Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 106
Thursday, May 9, 2024, 8:18 a.m. to 10:32 a.m.
Heath MacDonald, Chair (Liberal)

• John Aldag for Iqwinder Gaheer (Liberal)
• Larry Brock for Glen Motz (Conservative)
• Rosemarie Falk for Glen Motz (Conservative)
• Garnett Genuis for Dane Lloyd (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Sabrina Charland, Analyst
• Alexsandra Ferland, Analyst
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Owen Ripley, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs
• Katie O'Meara, Policy Analyst
• Galen Teschner-Weaver, Policy Analyst
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, December 13, 2023, the committee commenced consideration of Bill S-210, An Act to restrict young persons’ online access to sexually explicit material.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.


Garnett Genuis moved, — That the committee resume debate on the report from the subcommittee on agenda and procedure and his amendment, provided that once debate has been resumed Frank Caputo be deemed to have the floor.

Debate arose thereon.

At 8:25 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:29 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The debate continued.

At 9:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:18 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The debate continued.

At 10:32 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Simon Larouche
Clerk of the committee