Skip to main content
Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 111
Tuesday, April 9, 2024, 10:03 a.m. to 11:16 a.m.
Hon. Bardish Chagger, Chair (Liberal)

• Rosemarie Falk for Luc Berthold (Conservative)
• Brendan Hanley for Mona Fortier (Liberal)
• Jeremy Patzer for Blaine Calkins (Conservative)
• Cathay Wagantall for Michael Cooper (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Laurence Brosseau, Analyst
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Sébastien Carrière, Chief of Protocol of Canada and Personal Representative of the Prime Minister of Canada for La Francophonie
• Andrea Hudson, Director, Official Visits
Privy Council Office
• Christine Kennedy, Acting Assistant Secretary, Foreign and Defence Policy Secretariat
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, November 21, 2023, the committee resumed its study of Parliamentary Protocol Related to an Incident in the Speaker's Gallery on Friday, September 22, 2023.

Sébastien Carrière and Christine Kennedy made statements and, with Andrea Hudson, answered questions.

A point of order was raised as to the procedural acceptability of the questions being asked of the witnesses.


The Chair ruled that questions must relate to the study on the parliamentary protocol related to an incident in the Speaker's gallery on Friday, September 22, 2023.

Whereupon, Eric Duncan appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was sustained on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Sherry Romanado, Stephen Lauzon, Terry Duguid, Mark Gerretsen, Brendan Hanley, Marie-Hélène Gaudreau, Lindsay Mathyssen — 7;

NAYS: Eric Duncan, Cathay Wagantall, Jeremy Patzer, Rosemarie Falk — 4.

Accordingly, the Chair's decision was sustained.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


Mark Gerretsen moved, — That the committee do now adjourn.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Terry Duguid, Mona Fortier, Mark Gerretsen, Stéphane Lauzon, Lindsay Mathyssen, Sherry Romanado — 6;

NAYS: Luc Berthold, Eric Duncan, Marie-Hélène Gaudreau, Jeremy Patzer, Cathay Wagantall — 5.

At 11:16 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the committee