Skip to main content
Start of content

LANG Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 91
Thursday, March 21, 2024, 8:16 a.m. to 10:17 a.m.
René Arseneault, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lucie Lecomte, Analyst
Treasury Board Secretariat
• Karim Adam, Director, Oversight and Compliance, Official Languages Centre of Excellence
• Carsten Quell, Executive Director, Official Languages Centre of Excellence, Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer
Canada Border Services Agency
• Holly Flowers Code, Vice President, Human Resources
Privy Council Office
• Rima Hamoui, Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Senior Personnel
• Marcia Jones, Director General, Strategies and Planning
Public Service Alliance of Canada
• Pierre-Samuel Proulx, Senior Research Officer
• Alexandre Silas, Regional Executive Vice-President, National Capital Region
As an individual
• Geneviève Tellier, Professor
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(f) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, January 29, 2024, the committee resumed its study of language obligations related to the process of staffing or making appointments to key positions.

Geneviève Tellier and Alexandre Silas made statements and answered questions.

At 9:14 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:19 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Rima Hamoui, Carsten Quell and Holly Flowers Code made statements and, with Karim Adam, answered questions.

At 10:17 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Audrée Dallaire
Clerk of the committee