Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 83
Tuesday, November 7, 2023, 4:20 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Lena Metlege Diab, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Sophia Nickel, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Dana Phillips, Analyst
As an individual
• Hon. Harry S. LaForme
• Kent Roach, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto
Barreau du Québec
• Nicolas Le Grand Alary, Lawyer, Secretariat of the Order and Legal Affairs
• Nicholas St-Jacques, Representative of Barreau du Québec
Innocence Canada
• James Lockyer, Board Member, Counsel
Canadian Criminal Justice Association
• Myles Frederick McLellan, Chair of the Policy Review Committee
African Canadian Civic Engagement Council
• Dunia Nur, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, June 21, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-40, An Act to amend the Criminal Code, to make consequential amendments to other Acts and to repeal a regulation (miscarriage of justice reviews).

Harry S. LaForme, Nicolas LeGrand Alary, Nicholas St-Jacques and James Lockyer made statements and, with Ken Roach, answered questions.

At 5:18 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:25 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Dunia Nur and Myles Frederick McLellan made statements and answered questions.

At 6:00 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the committee