Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 58
Monday, April 17, 2023, 3:38 p.m. to 5:33 p.m.
Jenica Atwin (Liberal)

• Vance Badawey for Jaime Battiste (Liberal)
• Martin Shields for Jamie Schmale (Conservative)
• Scott Aitchison for Eric Melillo (Conservative)
• Sylvie Bérubé for Marilène Gill (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
As an individual
• Ella Estey, Student
Canadian Alliance of Student Associations
• Shannon Cornelsen, Co-Chair, National Indigenous Advocacy Committee
Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
• Elmer St. Pierre
Kiuna College
• José-Tomás Arriola, Clinical Supervisor
• Denis Gros-Louis, Director General, First Nations Education Council
Lac Seul First Nation
• Sylvia Davis, Director of Education
Tlicho Government
• Tammy Steinwand-Deschambeault, Director, Department of Culture and Lands Protection
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, November 21, 2022, the committee resumed its study on improving graduation rates and successful outcomes for Indigenous students.

Ella Estey, José-Tomás Arriola and Denis Gros-Louis made statements and answered questions.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Sylvia Davis, Shannon Cornelsen and Elmer St. Pierre made statements and answered questions.

At 5:33 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Vanessa Davies
Clerk of the committee