Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 42
Wednesday, November 2, 2022, 4:33 p.m. to 6:35 p.m.
Robert J. Morrissey, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Matthew Blackshaw, Analyst
• Eleni Kachulis, Analyst
• Vanessa Preston, Analyst
As an individual
• Vincent Calderhead, Legal Counsel
Easter Seals Ontario
• Alison Morse, Senior Manager, Advocacy and Family Engagement
Indwell Community Homes
• Jeffrey Neven, Chief Executive Officer
Quebec Intellectual Disability Society
• Amélie Duranleau, Executive Director
• Samuel Ragot, Senior Policy Analyst and Advocacy Advisor
• Gary Gladstone, Head of Stakeholder Relations
Women's Legal Education and Action Fund
• Jen Gammad, Communications and Advocacy Manager
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, October 18, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-22, Canada Disability Benefit Act.

Jeffrey Neven and Gary Gladstone made statements and answered questions.

At 5:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Alison Morse, Amélie Duranleau, Samuel Ragot and Jen Gammad made statements and answered questions.


Tracy Gray moved, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the committee invite the Minister of Housing and Diversity and Inclusion and relevant officials to appear before the committee for no less than two hours regarding the federal funding provided to the Community Media Advocacy Centre by the Government of Canada and the officials’ handling of the situation; that the meeting be televised; and that the meeting take place no later than Thursday, November 10, 2022.


The Chair ruled the motion inadmissible as it exceeded the mandate of the committee.

Whereupon, Tracy Gray appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was sustained on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Louise Chabot, Chad Collins, Michael Coteau, Wayne Long, Soraya Martinez Ferrada, Tony Van Bynen — 6;

NAYS: Scott Aitchison, Michelle Ferreri, Tracy Gray, Shelby Kramp-Neuman, Bonita Zarrillo — 5.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $ 29,775, for the study of Bill C-22, Canada Disability Benefit Act, be adopted.

At 6:35 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Danielle Widmer
Clerk of the committee