Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 108
Monday, April 15, 2024, 3:31 p.m. to 5:34 p.m.
Robert J. Morrissey, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Eleni Kachulis, Analyst
• Vanessa Preston, Analyst
As an individual
• Charles Smith, Associate Professor, Political Science, Saint Thomas More College
Canada's Building Trades Unions
• Sean Strickland, Executive Director
Canadian Union of Public Employees
• Mark Hancock, National President
• Annick Desjardins, Executive Assistant, National President's Office
Teamsters Canada
• Mariam Abou-Dib, Executive Director, Government Affairs
United Steelworkers Local 1944
• Donna Hokiro, President
• Corey Mandryk, Regional Executive Officer for British Columbia
United Steelworkers Union
• Nicolas Lapierre, Assistant to the Quebec Director
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, February 27, 2024, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012.

Sean Strickland, Mariam Abou-Dib and Nicolas Lapierre made statements and answered questions.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Charles Smith, Mark Hancock and Donna Hokiro made statements, and with Annick Desjardins, answered questions.


Tracy Gray moved, —

a) Liberal Government committed to creating the Canada Disability Benefit in 2020;
b) Now, four years later, the Liberal Government has still not implemented in the Canada Disability Benefit;
c) The Liberal Member of Parliament for Whitby, Ryan Turnbull, has resorted to writing an open letter to the leader of his own party, pleading for the benefit’s implementation, remarking that “Canadians with disabilities have waited long enough”;
d) This letter has been signed by Liberal members of this committee, including the Member of Parliament for Don Valley East, Michael Coteau, the Member of Parliament for Saint John-Rothesay, Wayne Long, and the Member of Parliament for Newmarket-Aurora, Tony Van Bynen.

The committee recognize the Liberal Government’s broken promises to Canadians with a disability that would qualify for this benefit.

Debate arose thereon.


Peter Fragiskatos moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Louise Chabot, Michael Coteau, Peter Fragiskatos, Wayne Long, Terry Sheehan, Tony Van Bynen — 6;

NAYS: Scott Aitchison, Alexandre Boulerice, Michelle Ferreri, Tracy Gray, Kyle Seeback — 5.

At 5:34 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Ariane Calvert
Clerk of the committee