Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 105
Thursday, March 21, 2024, 8:20 a.m. to 10:20 a.m.
Robert J. Morrissey, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Eleni Kachulis, Analyst
• Vanessa Preston, Analyst
• Hon. Seamus O'Regan, P.C., M.P., Minister of Labour and Seniors
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Sandra Hassan, Deputy Minister of Labour and Associate Deputy Minister of Employment and Social Development
• Zia Proulx, Director General, Strategic Policy, Analysis and Workplace Information Directorate, Labour Program
Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec
• Denis Bolduc, General Secretary
Public Service Alliance of Canada
• Chris Aylward, National President
• Daniel Fisher, Acting Director, Representation and Legal Services Branch
• Liam McCarthy, Director, Negotiations and Programs Branch
• Lana Payne, National President
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, February 27, 2024, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code and the Canada Industrial Relations Board Regulations, 2012.

Lana Payne, Chris Aylward and Denis Bolduc made statements and answered questions.

At 9:22 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:27 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The Minister made a statement and, with Sandra Hassan and Zia Proulx, answered questions.

At 10:20 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Ariane Calvert
Clerk of the committee