Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 94
Wednesday, December 6, 2023, 6:30 p.m. to 9:34 p.m.
Sean Casey, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Carolyn Bennett for Marcus Powlowski (Liberal)
• Anju Dhillon for Sonia Sidhu (Liberal)
• Andréanne Larouche for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
• Pierre Paul-Hus for Todd Doherty (Conservative)
• Rick Perkins for Shuvaloy Majumdar (Conservative)
• Anna Roberts for Todd Doherty (Conservative)
• Karen Vecchio for Shuvaloy Majumdar (Conservative)
• Julie Vignola for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Kelly Farrah, Analyst
• Tu-Quynh Trinh, Analyst
• Hon. Mark Holland, P.C., M.P., Minister of Health
Department of Health
• Dr. Celia Lourenco, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Products and Food Branch
Public Health Agency of Canada
• Heather Jeffrey, President
• Dr. Donald Sheppard, Vice-President, Infectious Diseases and Vaccination Programs Branch
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, November 8, 2023, the committee resumed its study of the government's advanced purchase agreement for vaccines with Medicago.

The Minister made a statement and, with Heather Jeffrey and Donald Sheppard, answered questions.

At 7:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:43 p.m., the sitting resumed.

As an individual
• Dr. Steven Narod, Senior Scientist
• Jacques Simard, Full Professor, Department of Molecular Medicine, Université Laval
• Dr. Anna N. Wilkinson, Doctor of Medicine
Dense Breasts Canada
• Jennie Dale, Cofounder and Executive Director
• Dr. Paula Gordon, Doctor
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, May 16, 2022, the committee resumed its study of women's health.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 9:34 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Sing
Clerk of the committee