Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 26
Monday, June 13, 2022, 3:52 p.m. to 5:57 p.m.
Sean Casey, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Ed Fast for Hon. Mike Lake (Conservative)
• Jean-Denis Garon for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
• Churence Rogers for Sonia Sidhu (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Sarah Dodsworth, Analyst
• Sonya Norris, Analyst
As an individual
• Eric Arts, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Western Ontario
• Dr. Emilia Liana Falcone, Director, Post-COVID-19 Research Clinic, Montreal Clinical Research Institute, Attending Physician, Infectious Diseases, Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal
• Kelly O'Brien, Associate Professor, Department of Physical Therapy, University of Toronto and Co-Director, Rehabilitation Science Research Network for COVID, University of Toronto
COVID Long-Haulers Support Group Canada
• Susie Goulding, Founder
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, February 2, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the emergency situation facing Canadians in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


Laila Goodridge moved, — That the committee is of the opinion that travel mandates in relation to COVID-19 be lifted immediately; and that the Chair report this motion to the House at the next available opportunity.

Debate arose thereon.


Don Davies moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Don Davies, Jean-Denis Garon, Brendan Hanley, Majid Jowhari, Marcus Powlowski, Sonia Sidhu, Adam van Koeverden — 7;

NAYS: Michael Barrett, Stephen Ellis, Ed Fast, Laila Goodridge — 4.

At 5:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $22,200, for the study of children's health, be adopted.

At 5:57 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the committee