Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 19
Monday, May 2, 2022, 3:57 p.m. to 6:01 p.m.
Sean Casey, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sarah Dodsworth, Analyst
• Sonya Norris, Analyst
Public Health Agency of Canada
• Dr. Harpreet S. Kochhar, President
• Dr. Theresa Tam, Chief Public Health Officer
• Dr. Howard Njoo, Deputy Chief Public Health Officer and Interim Vice President, Infectious Diseases Programs Branch
• Cindy Evans, Vice-President, Emergency Management Branch
• Stephen Bent, Vice-President, COVID-19 Vaccine Rollout Task Force
• Jennifer Lutfallah, Vice President, Health Security and Regional Operations Branch
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, February 2, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the emergency situation facing Canadians in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Harpreet Kochhar made a statement and, with Jennifer Lutfallah, Theresa Tam, Howard Njoo and Stephen Bent, answered questions.

At 4:20 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

It was agreed, — That the committee continue to meet under rules for Reduced Quorum until adjournment of the meeting.

At 6:01 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the committee