Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 8
Thursday, February 17, 2022, 11:05 a.m. to 1:12 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michael Chalupovitsch, Analyst
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
• Hon. Joyce Murray, P.C., M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
• Neil Davis, Regional Director, Fisheries Management Branch
• Alexandra Dostal, Assistant Deputy Minister
• Jean-Guy Forgeron, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Harbour Management
• Arran McPherson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science
• Niall O'Dea, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy
• Mario Pelletier, Commissioner, Canadian Coast Guard
• Timothy Sargent, Deputy Minister
• Andy Smith, Deputy Commissioner, Shipbuilding and Materiel, Canadian Coast Guard
• Doug Wentzell, Regional Director General, Maritimes Region
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, January 18, 2022, the committee proceeded to a briefing on the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard's mandate letter and matters related to her department.

The Minister made a statement and, with Timothy Sargent, Jean-Guy Forgeron, Alexandra Dostal, Mario Pelletier, Doug Wentzell, Niall O’Dea, Neil Davis and Arran McPherson, answered questions.

At 1:12 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Tina Miller
Clerk of the committee