Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 40
Friday, November 4, 2022, 1:02 p.m. to 2:56 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Naaman Sugrue, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Natacha Kramski, Analyst
• Edouard McIntyre, Analyst
As an individual
• Dominique Robert, Professor and Canada Research Chair in Fisheries Ecology, Institut des sciences de la mer, Université du Québec à Rimouski
Ecology Action Centre
• Sebastián Pardo, Sustainable Fisheries Coordinator
Oceans North
• Katie Schleit, Senior Fisheries Advisor
Fish, Food and Allied Workers - Unifor
• Keith Sullivan, President
Inverness South Fishermen’s Asssociation
• Jordan MacDougall, Commercial Fisherman
Regroupement des pêcheurs pélagiques professionnels du sud de la Gaspésie
• Ghislain Collin, President
• Lauréat Lelièvre, Commercial Fisherman
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, September 20, 2022, the committee commenced its study of the closure of mackerel fishing in Atlantic Canada and the Gulf of the St. Lawrence.

Dominique Robert, Sebastián Pardo and Katie Schleit made statements and answered questions.

At 1:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Keith Sullivan, Ghislain Collin, Lauréat Lelièvre and Jordan MacDougall made statements and answered questions.

At 2:56 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Sing
Clerk of the committee