Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 7
Friday, December 10, 2021, 1:01 p.m. to 4:14 p.m.
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Hilary Jane Powell, Procedural Clerk
• Philippe Méla, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Brett Capwell, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
• Joëlle Malo, Analyst
The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

On motion of Terry Beech, it was agreed, — That the committee authorize the clerk of the committee to distribute all committee documents to Peter Fragiskatos, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of National Revenue.

Canada Revenue Agency
• Janique Caron, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch
• Cathy Hawara, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Programs Branch
• Marc Lemieux, Assistant Commissioner, Collections and Verification Branch
• Frank Vermaeten, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment, Benefit and Service Branch
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, December 2, 2021, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act to provide further support in response to COVID-19.

Frank Vermaeten made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


The Chair ruled that the answer to a member’s question cannot be given because the member’s time had lapsed.

Whereupon, Peter Julian appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: “Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?” was put.

At 1:49 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:53 p.m., the sitting resumed.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That the appeal of the decision of the Chair be withdrawn.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.


Terry Beech moved, — That, pursuant to the motion adopted on Monday, December 6, 2021 the committee:

  1. Re-invite the Minister of Canadian Heritage and officials to appear before the committee for one hour at 11:00 a.m. on Monday, December 13, 2021;
  2. That the committee invite the Canada Revenue Agency, the Auditor General of Canada along with the Canadian Labour Congress to appear on Monday December 13, 2021, from 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.;
  3. That all amendments to the bill be submitted to the Clerk of the committee by 4:00 p.m. Saturday, December 11,  2021;
  4. That the committee proceed to clause-by-clause consideration of Bill C-2 at 6:00 p.m. on Monday December 13, 2021;
  5. That at 10:00 p.m. on Monday, December 13, 2021 every question necessary for the disposal of the said stage of the bill shall be put forthwith and successively, without further debate or amendment; and
  6. That the Chair be ordered to table the Bill in the House on Tuesday, December 14th.

Debate arose thereon.

At 3:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The debate continued.

At 3:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:56 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The debate continued.

At 4:04 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Yvan Baker, Terry Beech, Sophie Chatel, Peter Fragiskatos, Andréanne Larouche, Heath MacDonald, Alistair MacGregor — 7;

NAYS: Adam Chambers, Greg McLean, Pierre Poilievre, Jake Stewart — 4.

At 4:14 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the Committee