Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 19
Monday, February 14, 2022, 10:02 a.m. to 1:24 p.m.
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
• Joëlle Malo, Analyst
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Anamika Mona Nandy, Executive Director, Temporary Measures and Special Projects Division, Skills & Employment Branch
• Michael MacPhee, Director General, Employment Insurance Benefits Processing, Benefits and Integrated Services Branch, Service Canada
• Sylvain Noël, Manager, Policy Analysis and Initiatives, Employment Insurance Policy, Skills and Employment Branch
Department of Finance
• Trevor McGowan, Director General, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Lindsay Gwyer, Director General, Legislation, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Pierre Leblanc, Director General, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Phil King, Director General, Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Maximilian Baylor, Senior Director, Saving and Investment Section, Business Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Jenna Robbins, Senior Director, Strategic Planning and Policy, Business Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Pierre Mercille, Director General, Sales Tax Legislation, Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Robert Ives, Senior Advisor, Sales Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch
• Ling Wang, Senior Director, Financial Programs and Strategy, Financial Services Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Galen Countryman, Director General, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch
Department of Health
• Cameron MacDonald, Assistant Deputy Minister, Stategy, Integration and Date, COVID-19 Testing Secretariat
Public Health Agency of Canada
• Stephen Bent, Acting Vice-President, COVID-19 Vaccine Rollout Task Force
• Martin Joyal, Director General, Strategic Policy, COVID-19 Vaccine Rollout Task Force
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, February 10, 2022, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-8, An Act to implement certain provisions of the economic and fiscal update tabled in Parliament on December 14, 2021 and other measures.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 11:36 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 11:58 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.

As an individual
• Brian J. Arnold, Professor Emeritus
• Carol Anne Hilton, Chief Executive Officer, Indigenomics Institute
• Kim Drever, Partner, Taxation Services
• Amanjit Lidder, Senior Vice-President and Partner, Taxation Services
Moodys Private Client LLP
• Kim G. C. Moody, Chief Executive Officer
News Media Canada
• Jamie Irving, Chair
• Paul Deegan, President and Chief Executive Officer
Réseau FADOQ
• Gisèle Tassé-Goodman, President, Provincial Secretariat
• Danis Prud'homme, Chief Executive Officer, Provincial Secretariat
• Philippe Poirier-Monette, Collective Rights Advisor, Provincial Secretariat
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2022 budget.

Brian J. Arnold, Amanjit Lidder, Kim G.C. Moody, Jamie Irving, Paul Deegan and Gisèle Tassé-Goodman made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 1:24 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the Committee