Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 139
Thursday, April 18, 2024, 3:34 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

• Stephen Ellis for Marty Morantz (Conservative)
• Randy Hoback for Adam Chambers (Conservative)
• Annie Koutrakis for Rachel Bendayan (Liberal)
• Sherry Romanado for Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)
• Fraser Tolmie for Philip Lawrence (Conservative)
• Denis Trudel for Gabriel Ste-Marie (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Mehrab Kiarsi, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
As an individual
• Paul Allison, Doctor
• Ian Lee, Associate Professor, Sprott School of Business, Carleton University
Canadian Association of Public Health Dentistry
• Keith Da Silva, Immediate Past President
• Amrinderbir Singh, President
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Daniel Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer
Saguenay Port Authority
• Carl Laberge, President-Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, March 18, 2024, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-59, An Act to implement certain provisions of the fall economic statement tabled in Parliament on November 21, 2023 and certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

Paul Allison and Daniel Kelly made statements and answered questions.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:42 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Amrinderbir Singh and Carl Laberge made statements and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Ian Lee and Keith Da Silva made statements and answered questions.

At 6:30 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the committee