Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 137
Thursday, April 11, 2024, 3:32 p.m. to 5:55 p.m.
Audio Only
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

• Ziad Aboultaif for Philip Lawrence (Conservative)
• Dave Epp for Jasraj Singh Hallan (Conservative)
• Rick Perkins for Adam Chambers (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Mehrab Kiarsi, Analyst
Canadian Association of University Teachers
• David Robinson, Executive Director
Canadian Cancer Society
• Kelly Masotti, Vice-President Advocacy
• Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst
Canadian Fabricare Association
• Konstadin Kantzavelos, President
Council of Canadian Innovators
• Laurent Carbonneau, Director, Policy and Research
• Nicholas Schiavo, Director, Federal Affairs
Daily Bread Food Bank
• Neil Hetherington, Chief Executive Officer
Front d'action populaire en réaménagement urbain
• Véronique Laflamme, Spokesperson
Laurentian University Faculty Association
• Fabrice Colin, President
• Linda St-Pierre, Executive Director and Chief Steward
Otonabee-South Monaghan Food Cupboard
• Joan DiFruscia, Chair
Union des municipalités du Québec
• Martin Damphousse, President and mayor of Varennes
• Samuel Roy, Strategic Policy Advisor
Vancouver Anti-Corruption Institute
• Peter German, Chair, Advisory Committee
Wolf Midstream Inc.
• Jeff Pearson, President, Carbon
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, March 18, 2024, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-59, An Act to implement certain provisions of the fall economic statement tabled in Parliament on November 21, 2023 and certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

Neil Hetherington, Fabrice Colin, Linda St-Pierre, Nicholas Schiavo and Martin Damphousse made statements and, with Laurent Carbonneau et Samuel Roy, answered questions.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Robinson, Konstadin Kantzavelos, Joan DiFruscia, Rob Conningham, Jeff Pearson, Peter German and Véronique Laflamme made statements and, with Kelly Masotti, answered questions.

At 5:32 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 5:55 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the committee