Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 109
Thursday, October 19, 2023, 11:00 a.m. to 1:19 p.m.
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

• Dan Albas for Jasraj Singh Hallan (Conservative)
• Arpan Khanna for Adam Chambers (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Brett Capwell, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
As an individual
• Pierre-Olivier Pineau, Professor, Chair in Energy Sector Management, HEC Montréal
Agri-Food Analytics Lab
• Sylvain Charlebois, Director, Agri-Food Analytics Lab and Professor, Dalhousie University
Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists
• Marie Kelly, National Executive Director
• Eleanor Noble, National President
C.D. Howe Institute
• Benjamin Dachis, Associate Vice-President, Public Affairs
Centre for Future Work
• Jim Stanford, Economist and Director
Confédération des syndicats nationaux
• François Bélanger, Advisor, Research and Status of Women
• Yvan Duceppe, Treasurer
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2024 budget.

Pierre-Olivier Pineau made a statement.

At 11:06 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

Pierre-Olivier Pineau, Sylvain Charlebois, Eleanor Noble, Marie Kelly, Benjamin Dachis and Jim Stanford made statements.

At 11:31 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), the sitting was suspended.

At 11:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Yvan Duceppe made a statement and, with Pierre-Olivier Pineau, Sylvain Charlebois, Eleanor Noble, Marie Kelly, Benjamin Dachis, Jim Stanford and François Bélanger, answered questions.

At 1:19 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger,
Alexandre (Sacha) Vassiliev
Clerks of the committee