Skip to main content
Start of content

FEWO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 63
Monday, May 1, 2023, 11:00 a.m. to 1:02 p.m.
Karen Vecchio, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Clare Annett, Analyst
• Dominique Montpetit, Analyst
Aboriginal Women's Action Network
• Fay Blaney, Lead Matriarch
As an individual
• Cathy Peters, Educator
Centre to End All Sexual Exploitation
• Kathleen Quinn, Executive Director
Exploitation Education Institute
• Tiana Sharifi, Chief Executive Officer
Persons Against Non-State Torture
• Linda MacDonald, Co-Founder
• Jeanne Sarson, Co-Founder
Timea's Cause Inc.
• Timea E. Nagy, Chief Executive Officer and Founder
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, February 1, 2022, the committee resumed its study of human trafficking of women, girls and gender diverse people.

Tiana Sharifi, Timea E. Nagy, Jeanne Sarson and Linda MacDonald made statements and answered questions.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kathleen Quinn and Fay Blaney made statements and answered questions.

At 12:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 12:43 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 12:48 p.m., Sonia Sidhu took the Chair.

At 12:51 p.m., Karen Vecchio took the Chair.

At 1:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Danielle Widmer
Clerk of the committee