Skip to main content
Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 9
Thursday, March 3, 2022, 3:34 p.m. to 5:39 p.m.
Sven Spengemann, Chair (Liberal)

• Stephen Ellis for Ziad Aboultaif (Conservative)
• Anita Vandenbeld for Hon. Hedy Fry (Liberal)
• Cathay Wagantall for Garnett Genuis (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Billy Joe Siekierski, Analyst
• Hon. Harjit S. Sajjan, Minister of International Development and Minister responsible for the Pacific Economic Development Agency of Canada
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Caroline Leclerc, Assistant Deputy Minister, Partnerships for Development Innovation
• Peter MacDougall, Deputy Minister of International Development and Assistant Deputy Minister, Global Issues and Development
• Sandra McCardell, Assistant Deputy Minister, Europe, Arctic, Middle East and Maghreb
• Paul Thoppil, Assistant Deputy Minister, Asia Pacific
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, February 7, 2022, the committee commenced its study of Mandate Letters of the Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Minister of International Development.

Hon. Harjit S. Sajjan made a statement and, with Peter McDougall, Sandra McCardell, Paul Thoppil and Caroline Leclerc, answered questions.

At 5:39 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Clerk of the Committee