Skip to main content
Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 5
Thursday, February 10, 2022, 3:41 p.m. to 5:53 p.m.
Sven Spengemann, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Billy Joe Siekierski, Analyst
The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That the witness deadline for the Situation in the Taiwan Strait and Vaccine Equity and Intellectual Property Rights be moved to Friday, February 25, 2022.

Hermitage Capital Management Ltd
• William Browder, Head of Global Magnitsky Campaign
• Marcus Kolga, Director
Ukrainian Canadian Congress
• Ihor Michalchyshyn, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
International Crisis Group
• Olga Oliker, Program Director, Europe and Central Asia
As an individual
• Fen Osler Hampson, Chancellor's Professor, Carleton University, President, World Refugee & Migration Council
• Anessa Kimball, Associate Professor of Political Science and Director, Centre for International Security École supérieure d’études internationales, Université Laval
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, January 31, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the Situation at the Russia-Ukraine Border and Implications for Peace and Security.

William Browder, Ihor Michalchyshyn and Marcus Kolga made statements and answered questions.

At 4:44 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:46 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Anessa Kimball, Fen Osler Hampson and Olga Oliker made statements and answered questions.

At 5:53 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Clerk of the Committee